Ya Can’t Win ‘Em All

During my adventures this semester I have encountered many different new and interesting beers from Ohio.  For my last post I decided to get a little crazy and try some beers I would never have tried prior to this semester at school.

 

What are those beers?  Well, the brews hail from Hoppin’ Frog Brewery in Akron, Ohio.  The brewery, founded in 2006 by Fred Karm, doesn’t have a restaurant or a bar/tasting room on site, but the beer is available for sale Monday through Saturday after lunch.  It’s best to call for times to make sure Hoppin’ Frog is open.  I’d hate for anyone to drive all the way out there to find it isn’t open for sales.  You can buy the beers at retailers throughout Ohio and other states, too.

I traveled to Falls Bootlegger State Liquor on Graham Rd. in Cuyahoga Falls for these brews.

 

B.O.R.I.S.  The Crusher Oatmeal Imperial Stout – 9.4% ABV

Just the word “stout” scared me when I bought this beer.  Stout reminds me of Guinness, a stout I love only when paired with a shot of Jameson and Bailey’s.  (What can I say?  It’s the Irish in me!)  This beer poured like syrup and my nose was filled with the aromas of coffee and chocolate.  The first sip was robust.  Flavors of dark chocolate swirled around my mouth.  But…I just didn’t like it.  It’s going to sound harsh but it tasted like I was drinking mud and espresso.

Ohio Booze Blog, Ohio craft beer, Ohio beer, Hoppin' Frog Brewery

Photo courtesy of Hoppin' Frog Brewery

I’m sure people who appreciate a stout would love this beer but it was just too much for me.  The blog called Mug of Saint Arnold graded the beer as an A.  This guy probably has a much more developed palate than I have.  I’m not complaining though.

 

Bodacious Black and Tan – 7.6% ABV

I’ve always been a huge fan of those mixed beers; black and tan, black and gold, black and blue.  The flavors always mix so well together and there’s some excitement to drinking two beers at the same time.  Hoppin’ Frog took this love of mine and ruined it.  The beer is made from 67 percent India Pale Ale and 33 percent stout.  A traditional black and tan is made from Guinness and Bass, beautifully layered to please the eye and the palate.  This beer looked just as dark as the stout, which made me curious.

Ohio Booze Blog, Ohio craft beer, Ohio beer, Hoppin' Frog Brewery

Photo courtesy of Hoppin' Frog Brewery

This beer was just way too hoppy for my liking.  It’s another one of those beers that I don’t like but everyone else does.  The folks at Beer Advocate rated the beer with a B+ but the bitterness was overwhelming and made me nervous to try the next beer.

 

Wild Frog Wheat Ale – 6% ABV

Man, am I glad I decided to brave through to try this beer.  The beer poured a light caramel color and aromas of fruit hit my nose immediately.  That was weird to me because no fruit is used in the making of the beer.  The bottle suggests complimenting the flavors with an orange slice, which I would have done had I had one.

Ohio Booze Blog, Ohio craft beer, Ohio beer, Hoppin' Frog Brewery

Photo courtesy of Hoppin' Frog Brewery

It didn’t taste like any wheat beer I have ever tried before (and I’ve tried a lot in my research for this blog) but I liked that it was different from the rest.   The ratings on Rate Beer gave the brew an 86 out of 100.  It doesn’t surprise me that my feelings about the beer are different from most.

 

Other Brews

I wish Falls Bootlegger Liquore Store carried more of Hoppin’ Frog’s brews than the few I found but I’m glad I was exposed to this local treasure.  After surfing the website of Hoppin’ Frog I really want to try the Smashin’ Berry Ale, Smashin’ Berry Dark Ale, Frosted Frog Christmas Ale and the Frog’s Hollow Double Pumpkin Ale.

 

Have you ever tried Hoppin’ Frog brews?  If so, what’s your favorite?

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 responses to “Ya Can’t Win ‘Em All

  • Madeline Hartman

    I thought that this blog on beer was very interesting. Just to see her reactions to the different tastes and flavors of the beer. I, myself, am not a big fan of the taste of beer so to see that there are people who make hundreds of different tastes it is promising. I think that doing a beer tasting day would be exciting. It is just like doing cake tasting for a wedding. You don’t know what the flavor is going to be and then it just explodes in your mouth. Either in a good way or a bad way. It is good to be open to new things, if we are always so closed minded then the saying of America being a melting pot would be false. I believe that everyone should have culture in their life and beer tasting is a great way to do so.

    • Morgan Galloway

      Madeline,

      It is very important to be open to new things! Before writing this blog I would have never tasted a stout or an IPA because of my misconceptions of the brews. Deciding to blog about beer and wine from Ohio has opened my eyes to a million new flavors and establishments that I may have never visited before.

      A suggestion for you: if you want to try a delicious beer then try Thirsty Dog’s Raspberry Ale. It’s a light beer with fruity flavors bursting throughout it. Great on the nose, too.

  • Buzbe The Man In The Box

    Beer Tasting takes an acquired tongue and an adventurous heart! A women’s palate in my opinion is not gauged to the art of stout, lager and ale beers because of their acidic values, bitterness and spicy ingredients. Maybe you should have done wine tasting because judging from your comments, you aren’t a regular beer drinker. Some of these micro breweries use different milder spices like cinnamon to reach a balance in acidity levels. Americans have a hard time drinking these brews ice cold but Europeans drink these types of beers lukewarm with no problem! Besides, any true beer drinker will tell you… There’s no such thing as a bad beer when it’s free!!

    • Morgan Galloway

      Buzbe,

      I appreciate your opinions. However, I am an avid beer drinker, not stouts or lagers. I tasted these beers with my father and boyfriend (clearly, male palates) and they had similar reactions to the tastes.

      I don’t have to like every beer I taste and if you’ve read previous posts you will see there are dark beers that I’m a fan of…these ones were just not for me.

      No hard feelings and thanks for the comment.

  • Hannah Hamner

    Not being a fan of beer, it’s a little more difficult for me to relate to this, but I can definitely appreciate the idea behind it. I like the writing in this blog because it in conversational and easy to follow. The pictures add nice visuals that aid the content appropriately. The reviews provided would be very helpful for beer drinkers and I feel that they would really appreciate the suggestions for types of beers and locations of beer places. It is exciting to try new things and this project is a good way to do this. Well done:)

Leave a Reply

